The Archaeological and National History Museum The Guzelyurt Museum
The Archaeological and National History Museum is opened in a 19th-century church with a belfry-top shot off and double minarets in 1979, and situated at the west end of the town nearby the large central roundabout.
Downstairs is the section of stuffed-animal collection, containing a notable variety of the island’s animals. Pelicans and other birds, rabbits, reptiles, sheep and foxes are exhibited at this section; moreover grotesque animals like 2-headed or 8-legged lambs can be found. Upstairs is the archaeological section which is including several galleries of clay objects from all periods. One wing devoted to the nearby Late Bronze Age site of “Toumba tou Skourou” is exhibited at this section. There is also a special room in the corner containing both Artemis’ 2nd-century statue and remarkably well-preserved gold jewellery. An extremely large monument may be seen behind the museum on the central roundabout as well. That monument honours Turkish Cypriots killed by EOKA in the South Cyprus from 1950 till 1974, and a more recent victim in 1980. The Archaeological and National History Museum is opened daily around 08:00-19:00 with an entry fee of £2.25 approximately. If one wants to discover the 19th-century church, the museum guardian has the church’s key.